Robin Ticciati will took on the position as Music Director of Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin starting in the 2017-18 season with an initial contract of five years. On 26 September 2017 he conducted his official inaugural concert at the Berlin Philharmonie.


Biography: Robin Ticciati

Robin Ticciati has been Principal Conductor of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra since the 2009-10 season and Music Director of the Glyndebourne Festival Opera since the summer of 2014. He took up his position as Music Director of Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin in September 2017.

In the current and next seasons, the 34-year old conductor will return to Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Staatskapelle Dresden, NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester, Vienna Symphony, Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Budapest Festival Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre National de France and Czech Philharmonic. In November 2016 he toured with the London Philharmonic Orchestra and Anne-Sophie Mutter, performing concerts at Vienna’s Musikverein, the Berlin Philharmonie, the Gasteig in Munich and Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris. In the 2014-15 season Robin Ticciati led a European tour of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam and could be heard at the Konzerthaus in Vienna in the context of a residency with the Concertgebouw Orchestra, the London Symphony Orchestra, the Scottish Chamber Orchestra and the Vienna Symphony. From 2010 to 2013 he was First Guest Conductor of the Bamberg Symphony.

During his first two seasons as Music Director of the Glyndebourne Festival, Robin Ticciati conducted new productions of Strauss’s ‘Der Rosenkavalier’ and Mozart’s ‘La finta giardiniera’, Mozart’s ‘Entführung aus dem Serail’ and a revival of the Ravel double bill with ‘L’heure espagnole’ and ‘L'enfant et les sortilèges’. In the current season he will conduct the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment in a new production of Mozart’s ‘La clemenza di Tito’ (directed by Claus Guth). Besides Glyndebourne, in the recent past Robin Ticciati conducted Britten’s ‘Peter Grimes’ at La Scala in Milan, Mozart’s ‘Le nozze di Figaro’ at the Salzburg Festival, Tchaikovsky’s ‘Eugen Onegin’ at the Royal Opera House in London, and gave his debut at the Metropolitan Opera in New York with Humperdinck’s ‘Hänsel und Gretel’. In March 2017 he successfully returned to the Met with Tchaikovsky’s ‘Eugen Onegin’.

In his eighth season as Principal Conductor of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra (SCO) Robin Ticciati focused on contemporary composers, as well as works by Bruckner, Mozart and Strauss and in the forthcoming 17/18 season the backbone of his programme will be Dvořák Tours have led him with SCO through Europe and to Asia, as well as the Edinburgh International Festival. Their recordings on the Linn Records label – symphonies by Haydn, two Berlioz albums and a complete recording of Schumann’s symphonies – received numerous awards and were enthusiastically received by the critics. Robin Ticciati and the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin will present their debut CD with works by Debussy and Fauré in September 2017, also on the Linn Records label.
Robin Ticciati’s discography also includes Berlioz’s ‘L'Enfance du Christ’ with the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra (Linn Records), Dvořák’s Ninth Symphony, Bruckner’s Mass in F minor and a Brahms recording with the Bamberger Symphoniker and the Choir of the Bayerischer Rundfunk (Tudor), as well as a number of opera recordings for Opus Arte and the house label of the Glyndebourne Festivals.

Robin Ticciati was born in London and trained first as a violinist, pianist and percussionist. He played in the National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain until he turned to conducting at the age of 15. His mentors and patrons include Sir Colin Davis and Sir Simon Rattle. In 2014 he was appointed the ‘Sir Colin Davis Fellow of Conducting’ at the Royal Academy of Music in London.

as at: September 2017

Concerts with Robin Ticciati:



Termine in meinen Kalender übernehmen
23

Sat 23. September 2017
3.30 pm Mall of Berlin (Piazza)

›Symphonic Mob 2017‹ – Berlins größtes Spontanorchester

Robin Ticciati | mit Mitgliedern des DSO und Musikenthusiasten jeden Alters
Grieg, Wagner, Bizet
26

Tue 26. September 2017
8 pm Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Konzert zum Amtsantritt als Chefdirigent des DSO

Robin Ticciati
Rebel, Larcher, Strauss
29

Fri 29. September 2017
9 pm Kraftwerk Berlin

›Parallax‹ – präsentiert von DSO und ›Berlin Atonal‹

Robin Ticciati | Alina Ibragimova Violine | Elsie Bedleem Harfe | Moritz von Oswald Elektronik | Valerio Tricoli Elektronik | PYUR Elektronik | Paul Jebanasam Elektronik
Berio, Ives, Tricoli + PYUR, Bach, Ligeti, Jebanasam, Debussy, Oswald

October 2017

03

Tue 03. October 2017
8 pm Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Alina Ibragimova Violine
Berlioz, Widmann, Franck, Ravel

November 2017

16

Thu 16. November 2017
8.30 pm Heimathafen Neukölln

Verschoben: Jubiläumskonzert ›25 Jahre Ferenc-Fricsay-Akademie‹

Robin Ticciati
Bach, Widmann, Elgar

December 2017

17

Sun 17. December 2017
8 pm Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Sasha Cooke Mezzosopran (Maria) | Allan Clayton Tenor (Erzähler) | Jacques Imbrailo Bariton (Joseph) | Christopher Purves Bassbariton (Herodes)
Berlioz

More Info

February 2018

11

Sun 11. February 2018
8 pm Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Genia Kühmeier Sopran
Lindberg, Berg, Bruckner

More Info

12

Mon 12. February 2018
8 pm Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Genia Kühmeier Sopran
Lindberg, Berg, Bruckner

More Info

14

Wed 14. February 2018
8 pm Alte Oper Frankfurt

Robin Ticciati | Christian Tetzlaff Violine
Lindberg, Sibelius, Bruckner
15

Thu 15. February 2018
8 pm Elbphilharmonie Hamburg

Robin Ticciati | Christian Tetzlaff Violine
Lindberg, Sibelius, Bruckner
16

Fri 16. February 2018
8 pm Philharmonie Essen

Robin Ticciati | Christian Tetzlaff Violine
Lindberg, Sibelius, Bruckner

March 2018

08

Thu 08. March 2018
8.30 pm Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Casual Concert

Robin Ticciati | Alice Coote Mezzosopran | Nikolay Borchev Bariton
Wagner, Duruflé

More Info

09

Fri 09. March 2018
8 pm Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Alice Coote Mezzosopran | Nikolay Borchev Bariton
Wagner, Messiaen, Duruflé

More Info

April 2018

22

Sun 22. April 2018
8 pm Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Pierre-Laurent Aimard Klavier
Harris, Schönberg, Sibelius

More Info

June 2018

06

Wed 06. June 2018
8 pm Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Lisa Batiashvili Violine
Dvořák, Grime, Brahms

More Info

Das Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester Berlin ist ein Ensemble der

Gesellschafter:

Robin Ticciati heißt der Nachfolger von Tugan Sokhiev an der Spitze des Deutschen Symphonie-Orchesters Berlin. Der 34-jährige Engländer hat mit der Saison 2017|2018 die Position des Chefdirigenten und Künstlerischen Leiters des Hauptstadt-Klangkörpers übernommen. Am 26. September dirigierte er sein offizielles Antrittskonzert in der Philharmonie Berlin.

Biographie von Robin Ticciati

Robin Ticciati ist seit der Saison 2009|2010 Chefdirigent des Scottish Chamber Orchestra und seit Sommer 2014 Musikdirektor der Glyndebourne Festival Opera. Mit Beginn der Spielzeit 2017|2018 hat er sein Amt als Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter des Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin für zunächst fünf Jahre angetreten.

In der aktuellen und der kommenden Spielzeit kehrt der 34-jährige Engländer u. a. zum Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe, der Staatskapelle Dresden, dem NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester, den Wiener Symphonikern, dem Schwedischen Radio-Symphonie-Orchester, dem Budapest Festival Orchestra, dem London Symphony Orchestra, dem Orchestre National de France und der Tschechischen Philharmonie zurück. Im November 2016 tourte er mit dem London Philharmonic Orchestra und Anne-Sophie Mutter mit Konzerten im Wiener Musikverein, der Berliner Philharmonie, dem Münchener Gasteig und dem Pariser Théâtre des Champs-Élysées. In der Spielzeit 2014|2015 leitete Robin Ticciati eine Europatournee des Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam und war am Wiener Konzerthaus im Rahmen einer Residenz mit dem Concertgebouw Orchestra, dem London Symphony Orchestra, dem Scottish Chamber Orchestra und den Wiener Symphonikern zu erleben. Von 2010 bis 2013 war er Erster Gastdirigent der Bamberger Symphoniker.

Während seiner ersten beiden Spielzeiten als Musikdirektor des Glyndebourne Festival leitete Robin Ticciati Neuproduktionen von Strauss' ›Der Rosenkavalier‹ und Mozarts ›La finta giardiniera‹, Mozarts ›Entführung aus dem Serail‹ und eine Wiederaufnahme des Ravel-Doppelabends mit ›L'heure espagnole‹ und ›L'enfant et les sortilèges‹. In der aktuellen Spielzeit steht er in einer Neuproduktion von Mozarts ›La clemenza di Tito‹ (Regie: Claus Guth) am Pult des Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment. Neben Glyndebourne dirigierte Robin Ticciati in der jüngeren Vergangenheit Brittens ›Peter Grimes‹ an der Mailänder Scala, Mozarts ›Le nozze di Figaro‹ bei den Salzburger Festspielen, Tschaikowskys ›Eugen Onegin‹ am Royal Opera House in London und sein Debüt an der Metropolitan Opera in New York mit Humperdincks ›Hänsel und Gretel‹. Im März 2017 kehrte er erfolgreich mit Tschaikowskys ›Eugen Onegin‹ an die Met zurück.

In seiner achten Spielzeit als Chefdirigent des Scottish Chamber Orchestra (SCO) legte Robin Ticciati Schwerpunkte auf zeitgenössische Komponisten sowie auf Werke von Bruckner, Mozart und Strauss. In der Saison 2017|2018 steht das Œuvre Dvořáks im Fokus der Programmgestaltung. Gastspielreisen führten ihn mit dem SCO durch Europa und nach Asien sowie zum Edinburgh International Festival. Die gemeinsamen, bei Linn Records erschienenen Einspielungen – Symphonien von Haydn, zwei Berlioz-Alben und eine Gesamteinspielung der Schumann-Symphonien – wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet und von der Kritik begeistert aufgenommen. Ebenfalls bei Linn Records legen Robin Ticciati und das Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester Berlin im September 2017 ihre Debüt-CD mit Werken von Debussy und Fauré vor.
Ticciatis Diskographie umfasst außerdem Berlioz' ›L'enfance du Christ‹ mit dem Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra (Linn Records), Dvořáks Neunte Symphonie, Bruckners f-Moll-Messe und eine Brahms-Einspielung mit den Bamberger Symphonikern und dem Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks (Tudor) sowie etliche Opern-Aufnahmen für Opus Arte und dem Hauslabel des Glyndebourne Festivals.

Robin Ticciati wurde in London geboren und zunächst als Violinist, Pianist und Schlagzeuger ausgebildet. Er spielte im National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain, bis er sich im Alter von 15 Jahren dem Dirigieren zuwandte. Zu seinen Mentoren und Förderern gehören Sir Colin Davis und Sir Simon Rattle. 2014 wurde er von der Royal Academy of Music in London zum ›Sir Colin Davis Fellow of Conducting‹ ernannt.

Stand: September 2017

Die Konzerte mit Robin Ticciati der Saison 2017|2018



Termine in meinen Kalender übernehmen
23

Sa 23. September 2017
15.30 Uhr Mall of Berlin (Piazza)

›Symphonic Mob 2017‹ – Berlins größtes Spontanorchester

Robin Ticciati | mit Mitgliedern des DSO und Musikenthusiasten jeden Alters
Grieg, Wagner, Bizet
26

Di 26. September 2017
20 Uhr Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Konzert zum Amtsantritt als Chefdirigent des DSO

Robin Ticciati
Rebel, Larcher, Strauss
29

Fr 29. September 2017
21 Uhr Kraftwerk Berlin

›Parallax‹ – präsentiert von DSO und ›Berlin Atonal‹

Robin Ticciati | Alina Ibragimova Violine | Elsie Bedleem Harfe | Moritz von Oswald Elektronik | Valerio Tricoli Elektronik | PYUR Elektronik | Paul Jebanasam Elektronik
Berio, Ives, Tricoli + PYUR, Bach, Ligeti, Jebanasam, Debussy, Oswald

Oktober 2017

03

Di 03. Oktober 2017
20 Uhr Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Alina Ibragimova Violine
Berlioz, Widmann, Franck, Ravel

November 2017

10

Fr 10. November 2017
20 Uhr Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Isabelle Faust Violine
Bach, Schumann, Mozart

Mehr Info

11

Sa 11. November 2017
20 Uhr Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Isabelle Faust Violine
Bach, Schumann, Mozart

Mehr Info

12

So 12. November 2017
12 Uhr Haus des Rundfunks, Großer Sendesaal

Kulturradio-Kinderkonzert ›Beim Jupiter!‹

Robin Ticciati | Christian Schruff Moderation
Mozart

Mehr Info

16

Do 16. November 2017
20.30 Uhr Heimathafen Neukölln

Jubiläumskonzert ›25 Jahre Ferenc-Fricsay-Akademie‹

Robin Ticciati
Elgar, Widmann, Bach

Mehr Info

24

Fr 24. November 2017
20 Uhr Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Karen Cargill Mezzosopran
Hosokawa, Mahler

Mehr Info

25

Sa 25. November 2017
20 Uhr Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Karen Cargill Mezzosopran
Hosokawa, Mahler

Mehr Info

Dezember 2017

17

So 17. Dezember 2017
20 Uhr Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Sasha Cooke Mezzosopran (Maria) | Allan Clayton Tenor (Erzähler) | Jacques Imbrailo Bariton (Joseph) | Christopher Purves Bassbariton (Herodes)
Berlioz

Mehr Info

Februar 2018

11

So 11. Februar 2018
20 Uhr Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Genia Kühmeier Sopran
Lindberg, Berg, Bruckner

Mehr Info

12

Mo 12. Februar 2018
20 Uhr Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Genia Kühmeier Sopran
Lindberg, Berg, Bruckner

Mehr Info

14

Mi 14. Februar 2018
20 Uhr Alte Oper Frankfurt

Robin Ticciati | Christian Tetzlaff Violine
Lindberg, Sibelius, Bruckner
15

Do 15. Februar 2018
20 Uhr Elbphilharmonie Hamburg

Robin Ticciati | Christian Tetzlaff Violine
Lindberg, Sibelius, Bruckner
16

Fr 16. Februar 2018
20 Uhr Philharmonie Essen

Robin Ticciati | Christian Tetzlaff Violine
Lindberg, Sibelius, Bruckner

März 2018

08

Do 08. März 2018
20.30 Uhr Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Casual Concert

Robin Ticciati | Alice Coote Mezzosopran | Mariusz Kwiecień Bariton
Wagner, Duruflé

Mehr Info

09

Fr 09. März 2018
20 Uhr Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Alice Coote Mezzosopran | Mariusz Kwiecień Bariton
Wagner, Messiaen, Duruflé

Mehr Info

April 2018

22

So 22. April 2018
20 Uhr Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Pierre-Laurent Aimard Klavier
Harris, Schönberg, Sibelius

Mehr Info

Juni 2018

06

Mi 06. Juni 2018
20 Uhr Philharmonie Berlin, Großer Saal

Robin Ticciati | Lisa Batiashvili Violine
Dvořák, Grime, Brahms

Mehr Info

Das Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester Berlin ist ein Ensemble der

Gesellschafter: