Berlin needs music

Whitsuntide weekend: The DSO by land, sea and air

With the claim "Berlin braucht Musik" (Berlin needs music) the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin was spreading out over the Whitsuntide weekend to bring music to the capital. On land, on water and in the air DSO’s chamber music ensembles could be heard in various formations all over Berlin – near social institutions, in public places and along the river. In times of closed concert halls and cultural institutions, the orchestra, in cooperation with the Bürgerstiftung Berlin and the Kulturfluss e. V., expresses the conviction that the experience of live music is not a luxury, but the fulfilment of an existential human need. 

More info

Concerts until July 31st cancelled

We are very sorry to let you know that all DSO concerts until 31 July 2020 have been cancelled in accordance with the decision of the Senator for Culture and Europe, Dr. Klaus Lederer, that the planned events in the state theaters, operas and concert halls of Berlin until the end of the season cannot take place due to the Corona virus.

Please click on "more Info" for detailed information on refunds or donations. 

More info
Order now

DSO's 2020-21 subscriptions available

You can find all new information on DSO's programmes, concerts and artist of the upcoming 2020-21 season on this website.

Subscriptions are available as of now. Subscribe here ...

Individual ticket sale starts July 15.

More info

Latest news

Concerts at home

The DSO on air

With all the concert halls closed and all the concerts cancelled until July 31 there ist still a lot of music around. Thanks to its radio partners DSO's concerts can be heard frequently on Deutschlandfunk Kultur, Deutschlandfunk, rbbKultur and on many other public radio stations. For air dates and programmes have a look at our radio schedule ›DSO on air‹.

Mehr Info
Mon 21.09.
8 pm
Philharmonie Berlin
Season opening

Musikfest Berlin

With a concert at Musikfest Berlin the DSO begins its 2020-21 concert season. Robin Ticciati conducts Elgar's ›Cockaigne‹ concert ouverture and Beethoven's fourth symphony. The solo part in Wolfgang Rihm's ›La musique creuse le ciel‹ is played by GrauSchumacher Piano Duo.

DSO Nachrichten

DSO News 05/06 2020

›DSO News‹ (DSO-Nachrichten) is DSO's bi-monthly German language magazine with news, interviews, concert previews and reports about the orchestra and its programmes.


Use the online form to book a subscription the easy way and enjoy its many beneftits.