Symphonic Mob 2020 – #home_edition

Clicking the play-button loads content from Youtube. To the privacy policy

›Symphonic Mob‹ 2020 #home_edition: 
Walter Kollo ›Solang noch untern Linden‹ from the revue ›Drunter und Drüber‹

Jarkko Riihimäki arrangement
Friedrich Gatz editor
Erik Brauer sound
Irene Themann design

The ›Symphonic Mob‹ is a project of the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin in cooperation with Rundfunkchor Berlin.

Berlin will always be Berlin

On 19.09.2020, the seventh ›Symphonic Mob‹ would have taken place in the Mall of Berlin – together with the DSO, the Rundfunkchor Berlin and many music enthusiasts. But like so many other things, this too had to bow to the measures against the COVID 19 pandemic. However, to ensure that no year goes by without a ›Symphonic Mob‹, we have launched a special edition: Musicians of all ages, beginners and professionals, from violin to accordion, play together – digitally! After receiving many great video submissions, we can finally present the result: over 170 musicians singing and playing together the old Berlin hit ›Solang noch untern Linden‹ by Walter Kollo. Even if this kind of playing together can't replace the experience of a ›real‹ Symphonic Mob, it's a nice sign that we remain connected despite all obstacles. In this sense: Have fun with the #home_edition of the ›Symphonic Mob‹ and a happy new year! Here's to seeing you live again next autumn at the ›Symphonic Mob‹ 2021.

Best wishes!
Your Symphonic Mob Team

Join in!


»You play the music« – this was to be the motto for Berlin's largest spontaneous orchestra to enter its seventh instalment n September 2020. But the corona virus has put a spanner in the works: the Symphonic Mob will therefore not be able to take place in its original form this year.

Nevertheless, we don't want this year to go by without you! Therefore we call on you to be part of our »Symphonic Mob 2020 – #home_edition«.

We will take the Symphonic Mob into the virtual world and let Berlin's largest spontaneous orchestra sound together digitally. The program is a little shorter this year: We join forces to play the Berlin classic ›Linden March‹ by Walter Kollo.

Anyone who would like to take part should send us a video with their voice by 19 September 2020. We will then set up a joint ›Symphonic-Mob‹ video.

Registration and further information at

Review: ›Symphonic Mob‹ 2019

Clicking the play-button loads content from Youtube. To the privacy policy

What's a ›Symphonic Mob‹?

It’s very easy to listen to a symphony orchestra. But what about making music with orchestra professionals? That’s possible too: the ‘Symphonic Mob’ offers everyone who can play an instrument or enjoys singing the opportunity to make music with the musicians of a professional orchestra – no matter whether in everyday life you play in an amateur orchestra or a big band, whether you play a brass instrument or in a string chamber group.

The Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin implemented the concept in Berlin for the first time in the summer of 2014, combining professional musicians and passionate amateurs of all ages and any musical training to one large spontaneous orchestra. Whether playing original parts or simplified scores – accordions, saxophones, ukuleles and many other instruments also joined in making music alongside the large orchestra. And it has become a sustained success:

  • For the premiere at the open house day in the Federal Foreign Office in 2014, more than 400 musicians between the ages of eight and 84 gathered to jointly perform music by Beethoven and Bizet.

  • The concept continued in 2015 in the Mall of Berlin with dances by Dvořák and Brahms.

  • In May 2016, Berlin’s ‘Symphonic Mob’ with conductor laureate Kent Nagano and more than 1,000 participants even got great feedback from around the world.

  • The fourth ‘Symphonic Mob’ in September 2017 with the new principal conductor Robin Ticciati succeeded once again in delighting more than 1,000 participants and many hundred listeners in the Mall of Berlin. The programme included ‘Morning Mood’ from the ‘Peer Gynt’ Suite No. 1 by Grieg, two choruses from Wagner’s ‘Meistersinger’ and ‘Tannhäuser’ and the ‘Torero March’ from Bizet’s first ‘Carmen’ Suite.

  • Under the baton of DSO's music director Robin Ticciati the fifth ›Symphonic Mob‹ took place at the Mall of Berlin in September 2018 – once again in delighting more than 1,300 participants and many hundred listeners with wonderful music. The programme included ›In the Hall of the Mountain King‹ from the ›Peer Gynt‹ suite no. 1 by Edvard Grieg, ›Nimrod‹ from Edward Elgar's ›Enigma variations‹ as well as choirs from ›Il trovatore‹ and ›Macbeth‹ by Giuseppe Verdi.

Not just in Berlin ...

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation and under the overall ‘Symphonic Mob’ brand, a number of partner orchestras came on board in 2016, 2017 amd 2018; they have implemented the concept locally and in cooperation with the DSO in Bremen, Coburg, Cologne, Halle, Frankfurt/Oder, Rostock, Hamburg, Schwerin, Göttingen and Ludwigshafen.

You will find photo galleries, videos and much more information about the ‘Symphonic Mob’ in Berlin and many other cities on the project website ...

The next ›Symphonic Mob‹

›Symphonic Mob‹ 2018