Present and Future: Tugan Sokhiev
A new chapter opened for the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin (DSO Berlin) on 7 September 2012: Tugan Sokhiev conducted the DSO as Music Director for the first time during the Musikfest Berlin, 65 years to the day after the orchestra’s first public concert. After two years as the Designated Music Director he thus officially succeeded Ferenc Fricsay, Lorin Maazel, Riccardo Chailly, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Kent Nagano and Ingo Metzmacher. The response speaks for itself: »At his inaugural concert, Sokhiev – a springy, intelligent conductor who reacts to the music as quick as a flash – enthralled his orchestra, controlling with a light touch right from the start Stravinsky’s ›Pulcinella‹ Suite and, on the second half, Sergei Rachmaninov’s Third Symphony, which is rarely performed in Germany,« the Süddeutsche Zeitung wrote.

Founding by RIAS
In 2013, the DSO looks back on a 67-year tradition as a Berlin radio and concert orchestra. Founded in 1946 as the RIAS-Symphonie-Orchester by Radio in the American Sector (RIAS), its first Principal Conductor Ferenc Fricsay set standards in repertoire, sound ideal and media presence starting in 1948. Music of the 20th century immediately became a programming staple, in addition to interpretations of the classical repertoire characterised by transparency, structural conciseness and plasticity.

From RSO to DSO
Starting in 1956 the radio station Sender Freies Berlin (now Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg, rbb) participated in sponsoring the orchestra; this is why it changed its name to Radio Symphony Orchestra Berlin (RSO Berlin). The RSO acquired an excellent reputation in Berlin and on numerous tours, with radio and television productions, through its concert programs, as well as significant conductors who committed to them. After Ferenc Fricsay’s early death, the young Lorin Maazel 1964 took over artistic responsibility for the orchestra, followed by Riccardo Chailly in 1982 and Vladimir Ashkenazy in 1989. In 1993 the RSO changed its name to Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin.

As of 1 January 1994 the existing RSO GmbH was extended to become Rundfunk Orchester und Chöre GmbH (roc berlin). Its shareholders are Deutschlandradio (40%), the Federal Republic of Germany (35%), the state of Berlin (20%) and Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg (5%).

The DSO in the new millennium
Kent Nagano was appointed Principal Conductor and Artistic Director in the 2000|2001 season. He led the orchestra to engagements at the Salzburg Festival, the Baden-Baden Festival House and the Paris Théâtre du Châtelet. Kent Nagano bade the orchestra farewell in 2006; since then he has been associated with them as its honorary conductor. Ingo Metzmacher held the position of the DSO’s Music Director from 2007 to 2010. His annual programs were characterised by overarching themes. By launching the Casual Concerts concert format he emphasised the orchestra’s openness and its desire to address new groups of listeners.

The DSO in the media
The DSO’s symphony concerts in the Berliner Philharmonic Hall are recorded by Deutschlandradio Kultur and by the rbb Kulturradio, and are regularly broadcast in Germany and throughout Europe and beyond via the European Broadcasting Union. Selected concerts outside of Germany are recorded by Deutsche Welle, the German international broadcaster for radio and television.

The DSO is also globally present with numerous prize-winning CD recordings. In 2011 it received the ›Grammy Award‹ for the world premiere recording of Kaija Saariaho’s opera ›L’amour de loin‹, conducted by Kent Nagano. Among other CD publications of recent years, recordings with Ingo Metzmacher on ›Phoenix Edition‹, Christoph Eschenbach on ›Capriccio‹ and with Yutaka Sado on ›Challenge Classics‹ stand out. Recordings of contemporary music have been released on ›Neos‹ and ›Kairos‹. Furthermore, the orchestra has released several live opera recordings from the Baden-Baden Festival House as DVDs on ›Arthaus Musik‹. The DVD series ›Monuments of Classical Music‹ produced by Deutsche Welle has received several awards.

The DSO on tour
Over and above its concerts in Berlin, the DSO is active in international music life with numerous guest appearances. Concert tours have led the orchestra to Russia, Asia, North and South America and Lebanon. In recent years it has given guest performances in Brazil and Argentina, in Japan, China, Malaysia and Abu-Dhabi, and a number of tour concerts in Eastern Europe in an ongoing collaboration with Deutsche Welle and the German Federal Foreign Office.

Besides performances at national and international festivals such as the Rheingau Music Festival, the Edinburgh International Festival, the Salzburg Festival, the BBC Proms and the Beethovenfest Bonn, the DSO can regularly be experienced in the major concert halls of Europe such as the Vienna Musikverein, the Salle Pleyel in Paris and the Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels.

as of: April 2013

Das Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester Berlin ist ein Ensemble der Rundfunk Orchester und Chöre GmbH Berlin.

Gegenwart und Zukunft: Tugan Sokhiev
Mit dem 7. September 2012 wurde für das Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester Berlin (DSO Berlin) ein neues Kapitel aufgeschlagen. Tugan Sokhiev stand im Rahmen des Musikfests Berlin erstmals als Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter am Pult des DSO, auf den Tag 65 Jahre nach dem ersten öffentlichen Konzert des Orchesters. Nach zwei Jahren als Designierter Chefdirigent trat er damit offiziell die Nachfolge von Ferenc Fricsay, Lorin Maazel, Riccardo Chailly, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Kent Nagano und Ingo Metzmacher an. Das Echo sprach für sich: »Sokhiev, ein federnd intelligenter, blitzschnell auf die Musik reagierender und sein Orchester packender Dirigent, beherrscht gleich beim Antrittskonzert mit leichter Hand Strawinskys ›Pulcinella‹-Suite und nach der Pause die in Deutschland selten aufgeführte Dritte Symphonie Sergei Rachmaninoffs«, so die Süddeutsche Zeitung.

Gründung durch den RIAS
2015 blickt das DSO auf eine 69-jährige Tradition als Berliner Radio- und Konzertorchester zurück. 1946 als RIAS-Symphonie-Orchester vom Rundfunk im amerikanischen Sektor (RIAS) gegründet, setzte sein erster Chefdirigent Ferenc Fricsay ab 1948 Maßstäbe im Repertoire, im Klangideal und in der Medienpräsenz. Musik des 20. Jahrhunderts bildete in der Programmgestaltung von Anfang an eine feste Größe neben den Interpretationen des klassischen Repertoires, die sich durch Transparenz, strukturelle Prägnanz und Plastizität auszeichneten.

Vom RSO zum DSO
Ab 1956 beteiligte sich der Sender Freies Berlin (heute Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg, rbb) an der Trägerschaft des Orchesters. Es änderte daher seinen Namen in Radio-Symphonie-Orchester Berlin (RSO Berlin). In Berlin und auf zahlreichen Tourneen, mit Rundfunk- und Fernsehproduktionen, seinen Konzertprogrammen wie durch bedeutende Dirigenten, die es an sich zu binden verstand, erwarb sich das RSO einen exzellenten Ruf. Nach Ferenc Fricsays frühem Tod übernahm der junge Lorin Maazel 1964 die künstlerische Verantwortung für das Orchester. Es folgten 1982 Riccardo Chailly und 1989 Vladimir Ashkenazy. 1993 änderte das RSO seinen Namen in Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin.

Mit dem 1. Januar 1994 wurde die bestehende RSO GmbH zur Rundfunk Orchester und Chöre GmbH (roc berlin) erweitert. Deren Gesellschafter sind Deutschlandradio (40 %), die Bundesrepublik Deutschland (35 %), das Land Berlin (20 %) und der Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg (5 %).

Das DSO im neuen Jahrtausend
Mit der Saison 2000|2001 wurde Kent Nagano zum Chefdirigenten und Künstlerischen Leiter berufen. Er führte das Orchester zu Engagements u. a. bei den Salzburger Festspielen, im Baden-Badener Festspielhaus und im Pariser Théâtre du Châtelet. 2006 nahm Kent Nagano seinen Abschied, er ist dem Orchester seither als Ehrendirigent verbunden. Von 2007 bis 2010 hatte Ingo Metzmacher die Position als Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter des DSO inne. Seine Jahresprogramme zeichneten sich durch übergreifende Schwerpunkte aus. Mit der Einführung des Konzertformats der Casual Concerts unterstrich er die Offenheit des Orchesters und das Anliegen, neue Hörergruppen anzusprechen.

Das DSO in den Medien
Die Symphoniekonzerte des DSO in der Berliner Philharmonie werden von Deutschlandradio Kultur und vom Kulturradio des rbb aufgezeichnet und in Deutschland sowie über die European Broadcasting Union regelmäßig auch europaweit und darüber hinaus gesendet. Ausgewählte Auslandskonzerte werden zudem von der Deutschen Welle, dem deutschen Auslandssender, für Rundfunk und Fernsehen mitgeschnitten und global verbreitet.

Auch mit zahlreichen ausgezeichneten CD-Einspielungen ist das DSO weltweit präsent. 2011 erhielt es für die Weltersteinspielung von Kaija Saariahos Oper ›L’amour de loin‹ unter Kent Naganos Leitung den ›Grammy Award‹. Unter den weiteren CD-Veröffentlichungen der letzten Jahre ragen Aufnahmen mit Ingo Metzmacher bei ›Phoenix Edition‹, Christoph Eschenbach bei ›Capriccio‹ und mit Yutaka Sado bei ›Challenge Classics‹ heraus. Aufnahmen zeitgenössischer Musik erschienen bei ›Neos‹ und ›Kairos‹. Weiterhin veröffentlichte das Orchester etliche Opern-Mitschnitte aus dem Festspielhaus Baden-Baden als DVD bei Arthaus Musik. Die von der Deutschen Welle produzierte DVD-Serie ›Monumente der Klassik‹ wurde mehrfach prämiert.

Das DSO auf Reisen
Über seine Konzerte in Berlin hinaus ist das DSO im Rahmen zahlreicher Gastspiele im internationalen Musikleben präsent. Konzertreisen führten das Orchester nach Russland, Asien, Nord- und Sudamerika sowie in den Libanon. In kontinuierlicher Zusammenarbeit mit der Deutschen Welle und dem Auswärtigen Amt gastierte es in den letzten Jahren in Brasilien und Argentinien, in Japan, China, Malaysia sowie Abu-Dhabi und gab zahlreiche Tourneekonzerte in Osteuropa.

Neben Auftritten bei nationalen und internationalen Festspielen wie dem Rheingau Musik Festival, dem Edinburgh International Festival, den Salzburger Festspielen, den BBC Proms und dem Beethovenfest Bonn ist das DSO regelmäßig in den großen Konzertsälen Europas wie dem Wiener Musikverein, der Salle Pleyel in Paris oder dem Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brüssel zu erleben.

Stand: April 2013

Das Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester Berlin ist ein Ensemble der

Gesellschafter: